Warning: Illegal string offset 'html' in /home/nissansi/public_html/forums/cache/skin_cache/cacheid_1/skin_topic.php on line 907
Anyone into First Person View flying? - Hardtuned.net - Page 2

Jump to content


- - - - -

Anyone into First Person View flying? 

Just getting started
124 replies to this topic

#31 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:07 AM

Awesome thanks! :D

#32 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:42 PM

There are a couple of things missing below but that is most of it. You may need a servo extension depending on where you mount your servo. Also excluded are batteries and a charger. Also missing is the video gear.

3 X Motors - http://www.hobbyking...?idProduct=6247
3 X Speed Controller - http://www.hobbyking...?idProduct=4312
4 X Red Wire - http://www.hobbyking...?idProduct=9681
4 X Black Wire - http://www.hobbyking...?idProduct=9680
1 X Power Distribution Board - http://www.hobbyking...idProduct=23140
1 X Servo - http://www.hobbyking...?idProduct=8778
3 X Prop Adapters - http://www.hobbyking...idProduct=16578
30 X Props - http://www.hobbyking...?idProduct=6227 (These are fine for basic but for heavy lift will need bigger).
1 X Low Voltage Alarm - http://www.hobbyking...idProduct=22749
1 X Battery Strap - http://www.hobbyking...idProduct=17410
1 X flight controller - http://www.hobbyking...trol_Board.html
1 X M2M Cables - http://www.hobbyking...10pcs_set_.html
3 X Connectors - http://www.hobbyking...sp?idProduct=68
1 X radio - http://www.hobbyking..._Firmware_.html

#33 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 24 July 2012 - 09:42 PM

Thanks for that, will help me a lot.

I'm thinking I would be better off making my own frame out of aluminum so that I can make an octocopter.
Am I right in assuming I can double my lifting power by putting a second motor on the opposite side of each arm?
If I wire the two motors together the flight controller would still think it's an octocopter right?

#34 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 July 2012 - 10:34 AM

Don't treat this as gospel as I have no experience in doing that but what I've been told is that you don't get twice the lifting power but maybe another 50% or something. I'm sure you can wire the motors to the same Speed controller just make sure you get one that can handle the current. What are you thinking of lifting?

Have a look at the vids on this page to see what people are doing for heavy lifts.

http://www.hobbyking...re/beerlift.asp

#35 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 25 July 2012 - 11:14 AM

Yeah i have been watching the beer lift vids for inspiration.

I want to lift around 5kg but i dont just want to struggle off the ground like on those vids, i want it to reliably and comfortably lift and carry it for a good distance.

I figured the double motors would not give double power due to the prop wash interfering with the blades, but it appears to help a fair bit in some of the vids.

:edit:
Another option i was thinking of was to mount the blades halfway down the arms and set them to only control lift, not pitch, roll and rotation.
I might also have some space to mount a couple of motors on the cage ill be mounting underneath the multirotor. I'll be building the cage first to get an idea of the total weight i have to lift.

Edited by Chappy, 25 July 2012 - 11:30 AM.


#36 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 July 2012 - 11:30 AM

Quick new vid with the new frame and flight controller. Really working on ways to reduce the vibrations and get nice clean footage.



#37 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 25 July 2012 - 11:40 AM

Hahaha i can just imagine your though pattern in that one:
"come here birdy.... here birdy birdy birdy..... f**k trees!"

#38 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 July 2012 - 11:52 AM

I think its actually a problem with the left motor. It drops from time to time and can't keep up in a climb so the Tri falls left when climbing hard :(

#39 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 July 2012 - 07:15 PM



#40 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 13 August 2012 - 07:06 PM

I've been having trouble with my Tri builds and getting good battery life while being able to carry the FPV equipment. Decided to build a quad today and now I understand why they are so popular. I have only flown a little so far but it has so much more power than the Tri and also looks like it will have better flight times. Win-Win situation it seems. Haven't FPV'ed it yet but will next weekend.



#41 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 23 December 2013 - 12:27 PM

Any updates on your adventures? Have you looked into getting yourself an OSD system for navigation?

Are you just using the stock antenna that came with your radio?
What video transmitter are you using these days?

:edit:
I also noticed you were having trouble with your quad pulling to the left when you climbed, did you fix that?

I have started my own quad build. I decided to hold off from the heavy lifting octo until i was comfortable with how to build and fly FPV on a quad :D

Got all my parts, just recovering from an operation before i do some modification to the frame to make it fit the motors i bought.

:edit2:
One more thing.
Now that i have been doing my research, i am going back over this thread and understanding more of what you said.

What made you choose to use a 2.4ghz video trans rather than 5.8?

Edited by Chappy, 23 December 2013 - 12:41 PM.


#42 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 23 December 2013 - 02:49 PM

I haven't been flying for a while - just started putting a quad together again ready for Christmas. Hoping to have it maidened on Wednesday and then FPVing on the weekend.

I have tried a few different things with radios and video transmitters. I have an Aurora 9 running a 400mhz LRS at the moment but haven't gone further than 500 meters in ages.

Have tried 900mhz, 2.4ghz and 5.8ghz video. The 900 was a cheapie and although it got the range it dropped out a lot. The 5.8 on rubber duckie antennas sucks. I bought cloverleaf antennas however they aren't the right polarity on the connector so have to get an adapter. I need to get back into it - been so long :(

#43 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 25 December 2013 - 01:03 PM

So what frequency do you prefer for video?

I got a wad of cash for Christmas to go towards my quad. Time for FPV methinks :D

Edited by Chappy, 25 December 2013 - 01:03 PM.


#44 -Gaz-

  • Joined:18-June 06
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:CBR, S14

Posted 25 December 2013 - 01:12 PM

f**k.

That's heaps cool . Reading the thread tittle I thought I was clicking a ford thread ! Much to my pleasure it's not ! I love the look of these things !

#45 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 December 2013 - 01:32 PM

I'll let you know preferred frequency soon bbut I reckon good quality 2.4ghz stuff with circular polarised antennas will be the go running with an LRS.

#46 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 25 December 2013 - 07:33 PM

I think I'm gonna stick with 900 and change it if I have to. My radio is 2.4 and I read that the video can interfere if it is on 2.4 as well.

#47 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 December 2013 - 10:02 PM

Thats how I started and got good results. Would have been better if I had used CP antennas. The only reason I want to spend more time on 2.4 is because the 900mhz cloverleaf antennas are rather large.

#48 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 25 December 2013 - 10:09 PM

My quad has a span of 550mm and an estimated lift thrust of over 4kg, so i have lots of room for plenty of tech and antennas.

I just need to sort an issue out with my flight computer being a *milkshake*. I have a more advanced computer on order which has room for tonnes of addons.
Once i get the CPU in order the next upgrade will be:

Sonar sensors
Bluetooth module
433mhz telemetry system (with the added ability of taking control of my quad with a joystick on my PC if my 2.4ghz radio loses contact)
GPS unit for return home mode and real time location readout for my telemetry
1500mw 900mhz FPV video system with pan and tilt camera

And a massive mast to put a large antenna for all my radio systems.

What was the exact frequency range that you used for your 900mhz video? I am reading info that there is a small window of legal frequency space in that band, is that a problem?

Edited by Chappy, 25 December 2013 - 10:10 PM.


#49 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 25 December 2013 - 11:23 PM

Nah - its all illegal with the power we use. Even 5.8 only allows I think 10milliwatt and typically we would be using at least 500mw

#50 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 26 December 2013 - 09:45 AM

I know the power levels are illegal, but they can't really police that.
Interfering on commercial frequencies could result in somdbody tracking you down.

#51 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 26 December 2013 - 09:26 PM

Optus mobile works in 900mhz. Just fly out of town and you'll be fine

#52 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 27 December 2013 - 06:56 PM

Fair enough.

What camera were you were able to run on 900mhz?

I am looking at this kit at the moment, and i was just wondering if the transmitter could handle a better camera?

http://www.hobbyking...idproduct=16457

#53 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 27 December 2013 - 08:10 PM

I am using the one below at the moment with the 2.8mm lens. Really good quality. The lens on the camera with the kits it too narrow - makes it VERY hard to fly when starting. Everything seems to be moving a lot faster and you have less spacial awareness. I really couldn't fly with that camera when I first started. As soon as I changed to something wider it was easy.

http://www.securityc...D-Menu-DNR.html

Also - the 800mw kit is plenty - 1.5w is overkill - will use more battery and create more heat. I also just noticed that HK don't have 900mhz cloverleaf antennas. If I was in your shoes I'd switch up to the 1.2ghz as you can get it all at HK - plus its lawmate equipment which is proven to be pretty good stuff.

http://www.hobbyking...ter_Module.html
http://www.hobbyking...V_Receiver.html
http://www.hobbyking...Set_Short_.html

You also aren't paying for a crap camera this way.

Also recommend the following
http://www.hobbyking...rs_GENUINE.html
http://www.hobbyking...10pcs_bag_.html I never seem to have any of these laying around
http://www.hobbyking..._Lipo_Pack.html Couple of these
http://www.hobbyking...ti_Charger.html I love mine
http://www.hobbyking...idProduct=10360 Few of these.
http://www.hobbyking...220v_240v_.html This to power it

Add some wiring and heat shrink as well (cheap at HK)

Don't really NEED all that stuff - just nice to have.


I ended up flying my new quad quickly tonight - went ok. Lots of tuning to do yet but that will come. I tried three different types of props and so far 11x4.7 seem the best. This is with NTM 800kv motors. The tri blades were smooth but required too much throttle - probably OK with higher KV motors. The 10x4,5's didn't have the power I was chasing. Will try 12's tomorrow and see if the motor will swing them.

After that i'll have to spend some time testing battery life with the different combo's to see which is the most efficient. Then I can throw the camera gear on and FPV it.

#54 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 29 December 2013 - 06:07 PM

I'm reading about people getting interference problems using 1.2ghz. They are saying it messes with the range of their 2.4ghz radio's.

Also, do you use a separate battery to power your video tx and camera?

#55 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 29 December 2013 - 07:16 PM

There can be harmonics on the 2.4ghz band - just use 1.3ghz - its a channel on the transmitter.

I do use a separate battery for the video gear. Just a little 1000mah 3 cell.

I didn't manage to setup the quad for FPV today - way too hot in the shed today. Was 39 outside :(

Edited by pjman, 29 December 2013 - 07:24 PM.


#56 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 29 December 2013 - 09:14 PM

How long does the 1000mah last you?

Also are you using an OSD?

Edited by Chappy, 29 December 2013 - 09:14 PM.


#57 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 29 December 2013 - 09:41 PM

Lasts ages on the transmitter - will get at least an hour - never flown enough to flatten it. I'm not using an OSD at the moment. I have one there but it was cheap and the resolution sucked so the updates for altitude etc were always behind. I'll get a better one one day if I am going to start flying further. For around the paddock here its not needed.

#58 pjman

  • Joined:04-November 02
  • Location:Australia QLD
  • Car:1990 20B Eunos Cosmo

Posted 30 December 2013 - 07:33 PM

This guy has just posted an interesting project. I need to put a ground station together so I may give this one a go

https://www.youtube....=em-uploademail

#59 Chappy

  • Joined:03-November 04
  • Location:Australia NSW
  • Car:2009 V36 370GT Sedan

Posted 31 December 2013 - 12:54 PM

I am seriously considering forking out for the ground station on hobby king. At first it doesn't seem worth it, then when I work out all the re-wiring required to get your own screen running and how badly I suck at soldering, $170 doesn't seem so bad.

#60 pyro

  • Joined:02-July 05
  • Location:Australia SA
  • Car:JZX100

Posted 31 December 2013 - 01:34 PM

f**k all of you. Now every time I have a spare moment, I can't help but think how awesome a squad of these things would be. My wallet will never be full again >:(





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users

Common Links

  • About Us
  • Privacy Policy
  • User Agreement
  • Help & Support Forums
  • Advertise
  •  

    By your continued use of this site, you agree to follow all Rules & Guidelines and abide by the User Agreement outlined in our Terms & Conditions.

    Hardtuned Network is hosted by Sanity Technology

    Design, Site Management & Hotness provided by Loz.

    Big thanks to all our members and volunteers for making this network what it is today!